The standards for identification of Cultural Features have been developed as a result of the Strategic Land Use Agreement (SLUA) and the subsequent Haida Gwaii Land Use Objectives Order. These two documents outline a series of objectives and required practices that form the basis for Ecosystem-Based Management (EBM) on Haida Gwaii. The cultural sections of the HGLUOO prescribe a series of forest management requirements, including Cultural Feature Identification surveys, to maintain and protect Haida Cultural Features that are most affected by logging.

Cultural Feature Identification certification is awarded by the Council of the Haida Nation based on competency, as proven through testing.

Training courses that cover the identification of cultural plants, monumental cedar, heritage features, culturally modified trees, survey standards and methodology have been offered through the Council of the Haida Nation on a demand basis (approximately 10-12 participants required) and funding availability. Individuals can challenge the certification exams (written and practical) if individuals have had Archaeological Inventory and CMT Training for Crew Members certification through the Council of the Haida Nation and the BC Association of Professional Archaeologists. The CHN’s Heritage and Natural Resource Department administrates the Cultural Feature Identification Program, which includes the coordination of training, standards development and auditing See the Cultural Features Identification Standards Manual for information regarding feature descriptions, data capture and reporting, as well as auditing standards.

Cedar Stewardship Area Management Plan 2016

Cultural Feature Identification Manual – Volume 4

Cal Lowther
Jim Sullivan
Percy Crosby
Chris Gruenwald
Archie Stocker
Guy Edgars
Rob Stewart
Kylie Harrison
Stan Swanson
Phil Bruce
David Zimmerman
Karen Church
Ryan Biller
Sean Brennan
Jaalen Edenshaw
Nick Reinhardt
Lynn Hughan
Daniel Scholey
Nick Reynolds
Jon Dunsmore
James Stanley
Steve Trommel
James Hageman
Guy Lawson
Doug White
Mike Alton
Joey Sahonovitch
Stefan Winter
Jay Nichol
Greg Peterson
Rob Yerbury
Matt Vandentillaart
Alan Geraghty